Live chat pricing in October 2026: what 23 tools charge, and what a team really pays

We read the pricing page of 24 live chat tools on the same day and computed what 1, 3, 5 and 10 people pay on each. Every price has its source and the dataset is downloadable.

The muro team

muro.chat

Published
Reading time
9 min
Live chat pricing in October 2026: what 23 tools charge, and what a team really pays
On this page

Pricing pages are built to be hard to compare. One tool charges per seat, another per workspace, a third per conversation, and the number in large type is usually the annual price divided by twelve. On 2026-10-10 we opened the pricing page of 24 live chat tools, recorded every plan that includes website chat, and worked out what a team of 1, 3, 5 and 10 would pay each month on the cheapest plan that fits. No review sites, no affiliate tables: only what each vendor prints.

14 of 23

tools price their entry plan per seat

$121

median monthly cost for 5 people, entry plan, monthly billing

$690

highest cost for 10 people (Zendesk); the lowest paid one is $59

20%

median discount for paying annually

What a team pays

For one person the tools sit close together: the median entry plan is $29 a month. The gap opens with headcount. At ten people the median is $240 and the most expensive entry plans are Zendesk ($690), Intercom ($390) and Front ($350). At the other end, Re:amaze ($59), Crisp ($95) and Pure Chat ($99) stay low because they charge a flat price or include several seats.

Monthly cost of the entry plan for 3 and for 10 people

US dollars, monthly billing, list price, cheapest plan that includes website live chat for that team size. Prices listed in euros are converted at the ECB reference rate of 2026-10-09 (1 EUR = 1.1206 USD).

  • 3 people
  • 10 people
muro
$19
$19
Re:amaze
$59
$59
Crisp
$45
$95
Pure Chat
$49
$99
HubSpot
$30
$100
Zoho SalesIQ
$34
$112
Chaport
$44
$145
HelpCrunch
$50
$168
Chatwoot
$57
$190
Freshchat
$69
$230
LiveChat (Text)
$75
$250
JivoChat
$84
$280
Smartsupp
$35
$287
Olark
$87
$290
Help Scout
$90
$300
Chatra
$104
$347
Front
$105
$350
Intercom
$117
$390
Zendesk
$207
$690
View as table
3 people10 peopleNote
muro$19$19Solo covers 2 sites with unlimited agents; Fleet ($59) covers unlimited sites. No free plan, 14-day trial.
Re:amaze$59$59Basic is $29 per team member; the flat Starter plan ($59, unlimited team members, 500 responded conversations) is cheaper from 3 people up.
Crisp$45$95Mini includes 4 seats, Essentials 10.
Pure Chat$49$99Growth includes 4 operators, PRO 10; extra operators are $15 and $10.
HubSpot$30$100Starter was shown at a "limited-time" promotional price; the undiscounted price was not printed.
Zoho SalesIQ$34$112
Chaport$44$145Pro includes 4 operators; Unlimited has no operator limit.
HelpCrunch$50$168
Chatwoot$57$190One price per agent, with no monthly or annual toggle on the page.
Freshchat$69$230
LiveChat (Text)$75$250New trials are sold as Text plans; the older LiveChat plans are legacy.
JivoChat$84$280Only the price "if billed annually" is printed; a monthly price is not listed.
Smartsupp$35$287Solo is 1 seat, Plus 3, Expert 5; extra Expert seats are listed "from" $34 each.
Olark$87$290The page prints one price per agent without saying whether it is billed monthly or annually.
Help Scout$90$300
Chatra$104$347
Front$105$350Starter covers live chat only if chat is the single channel type chosen.
Intercom$117$390A price test was running on the day: some sessions were shown $29 per seat on monthly billing instead of $39.
Zendesk$207$690The cheaper Support Team plan ($25) does not include live chat.

Source: Vendor pricing pages, captured 2026-10-10. Tawk.to (free) and tools priced by usage are listed below.

Monthly total by team size, entry plan, monthly billing (USD)
ToolPricing model13510
Tawk.tofree, Freefreefreefreefree
muroflat per workspace, Solo$19$19$19$19
HubSpotper seat, Starter$10$30$50$100
Zoho SalesIQper seat, Basic$11$34$56$112
Re:amazeper seat or flat, Basic / Starter$29$59$59$59
Pure Chatflat tiers, Growth$49$49$64$99
HelpCrunchper seat, Basic$17$50$84$168
Crispflat per workspace, Mini$45$45$95$95
Chatwootper seat, Startups$19$57$95$190
Freshchatper seat, Growth$23$69$115$230
Smartsuppflat tiers, Solo$24$35$117$287
LiveChat (Text)per seat, Essential$25$75$125$250
JivoChatper seat, Basic$28$84$140$280
Chaportflat tiers, Pro$44$44$145$145
Olarkper seat, Live Chat (no AI)$29$87$145$290
Help Scoutper seat, Standard$30$90$150$300
Chatraper seat, Essential$35$104$174$347
Frontper seat, Starter$35$105$175$350
Intercomper seat, Essential$39$117$195$390
Zendeskper seat, Suite Team$69$207$345$690

Rounded to the dollar. Each total uses the cheapest listed plan that covers the team size, so a tool can switch plans between columns. Per-vendor rules and caveats are in the dataset.

Per seat is still the default

14 of the 23 tools charge their entry plan per seat: Intercom, Zendesk, LiveChat (Text), HubSpot, Freshchat, Olark, Help Scout, Zoho SalesIQ, HelpCrunch, JivoChat, Chatwoot, Chatra, Front and Re:amaze. With that model the bill is a straight line: ten people cost ten times one. The others either sell tiers that include a number of seats, charge per workspace, or meter something else.

Flat and tiered prices are not automatically cheaper. They move the limit somewhere else: the number of seats included before the next tier, a cap on conversations, or the number of sites. Read the unit before the number.

The tools you cannot compare by headcount

Tools whose price does not depend on the number of people in a computable way
ToolWhy it is not in the chart
TidioPriced by billable conversations (Starter covers 100 a month), with 10 seats on every self-serve plan.
GorgiasPriced by ticket volume (Starter covers 50 a month, 3 seats).
Lime Connect (ex Userlike)Pro is "from" 105 EUR a month with a 3-seat minimum; the page does not say whether that is per seat.
BrevoLive chat is no longer priced on its own; it is listed among the free sales tools of every Brevo plan.

Drift is absent from the dataset: it no longer has a public price. Its pricing address redirects to Salesloft, whose page says the product has "transitioned from Drift to 1mind".

What "billed annually" hides

Most pricing pages lead with the annual price. Across the entry plans where both figures are printed, paying monthly costs more by a median of 20%, from 10% (Re:amaze) to 30% (HubSpot). Everything in this article uses the monthly-billing price, because that is what you pay if you want to be able to leave.

Discount for annual billing on the entry plan

How much lower the per-month price is when billed annually, compared with monthly billing.

HubSpot
30%
Zoho SalesIQ
30%
Smartsupp
29.2%
Front
28.6%
Intercom
25.6%
Chaport
25.6%
Zendesk
24%
LiveChat (Text)
24%
Pure Chat
20.4%
HelpCrunch
20%
Chatra
19.4%
Freshchat
17.4%
Lime Connect (ex Userlike)
17.1%
Tidio
16.7%
Help Scout
16.7%
Gorgias
16.7%
muro
16.7%
Brevo
10.1%
Re:amaze
10%
View as table
Discount for annual billing on the entry planNote
HubSpot30%Starter: 10 a month billed monthly, 7 a month billed annually.
Zoho SalesIQ30%Basic (BASIQUE): 10 a month billed monthly, 7 a month billed annually.
Smartsupp29.2%Solo: 24 a month billed monthly, 17 a month billed annually.
Front28.6%Starter: 35 a month billed monthly, 25 a month billed annually.
Intercom25.6%Essential: 39 a month billed monthly, 29 a month billed annually.
Chaport25.6%Pro: 39 a month billed monthly, 29 a month billed annually.
Zendesk24%Support Team: 25 a month billed monthly, 19 a month billed annually.
LiveChat (Text)24%Essential: 25 a month billed monthly, 19 a month billed annually.
Pure Chat20.4%Growth: 49 a month billed monthly, 39 a month billed annually.
HelpCrunch20%Basic: 15 a month billed monthly, 12 a month billed annually.
Chatra19.4%Essential: 31 a month billed monthly, 25 a month billed annually.
Freshchat17.4%Growth: 23 a month billed monthly, 19 a month billed annually.
Lime Connect (ex Userlike)17.1%Pro: 105 a month billed monthly, 87 a month billed annually.
Tidio16.7%Starter: 29 a month billed monthly, 24.17 a month billed annually.
Help Scout16.7%Standard: 30 a month billed monthly, 25 a month billed annually.
Gorgias16.7%Basic: 60 a month billed monthly, 50 a month billed annually.
muro16.7%Solo: 19 a month billed monthly, 15.83 a month billed annually.
Brevo10.1%Sales Essentials (add-on package): 29 a month billed monthly, 26.08 a month billed annually.
Re:amaze10%Basic: 29 a month billed monthly, 26.1 a month billed annually.

Source: Vendor pricing pages, captured 2026-10-10. Only plans that print both prices.

Free plans and their limits

Free plans found on the pricing pages
ToolSeatsConversation limit
Crisp2not stated
Tidio1050 billable conversations
Tawk.tonot statednot stated
HubSpot2not stated
Freshchat10not stated
Help Scout5not stated
Zoho SalesIQ3100 chat sessions per month
Smartsupp125 conversations per month
JivoChat5not stated
Chatwoot2500/month
Lime Connect (ex Userlike)1200
Brevo1not stated
Chatra15 chats per month
Chaport2unlimited chats

14 of the 23 tools list a free plan. "Not stated" means the pricing page does not give the figure.

Three things the capture turned up

  • A live price test. On the day, Intercom was showing two different prices for its Essential plan at the same address: $39 per seat on monthly billing in some sessions, $29 in others (9 of 13 fresh sessions got the lower one). The chart uses $39. If you are quoted a price, take a screenshot.
  • Products that changed name. LiveChat now sells new trials as "Text" plans, Userlike has become Lime Connect, and Brevo no longer prices its chat separately.
  • Prices without a billing period. Olark and Chatwoot print one price per agent and do not say whether it is billed monthly or annually. JivoChat prints only the annual one.

Where muro sits, and why it is in the table

muro is our product, so read this part knowing that. It is in the table because leaving it out of a comparison we publish would be stranger than including it. The Solo plan is $19 a month for up to 2 sites and the Fleet plan $59 for unlimited sites, both with unlimited agents, which is why its line is flat. The limit is the number of sites and a monthly pool of AI credits, not seats. There is no free plan, only a 14-day trial.

Method and limits

  • Source. Each vendor's own pricing page, opened on 2026-10-10 from France. Where a price depends on a billing toggle, the page was rendered and the toggle clicked. Every number in the dataset has the sentence it was read from.
  • Plan chosen. The cheapest listed paid plan that lets the given number of people answer website live chat. Plans that exclude chat (for example Zendesk Support Team) are skipped.
  • Billing. Monthly billing, list price, no promotions except where the page shows only a promotional price (HubSpot Starter).
  • Currency. 6 tools showed euro prices (Zoho SalesIQ, HelpCrunch, Lime Connect (ex Userlike), Brevo, Chatra and Chaport); they are converted to dollars at the ECB reference rate of 2026-10-09. Several other vendors show the same number in both currencies.
  • What it does not cover. Taxes, AI add-ons billed by usage, negotiated discounts, and whether the entry plan has the features you need. A cheap plan without the one integration you depend on is not cheap.
  • Prices change. This is a snapshot. Check the vendor page before you decide.

Sources

  1. 1Intercom, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  2. 2Zendesk, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  3. 3Crisp, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  4. 4Tidio, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  5. 5LiveChat (Text), pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  6. 6Tawk.to, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  7. 7HubSpot, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  8. 8Freshchat, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  9. 9Olark, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  10. 10Help Scout, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  11. 11Gorgias, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  12. 12Zoho SalesIQ, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  13. 13Smartsupp, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  14. 14HelpCrunch, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  15. 15JivoChat, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  16. 16Chatwoot, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  17. 17Lime Connect (ex Userlike), pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  18. 18Brevo, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  19. 19Chatra, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  20. 20Front, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  21. 21Re:amaze, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  22. 22Pure Chat, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  23. 23Chaport, pricing page (accessed 2026-10-10)
  24. 24European Central Bank, euro foreign exchange reference rates (accessed 2026-10-09)
  • research
  • pricing
  • live-chat
  • per-seat
  • comparison

Written by The muro team. A question, or a mistake we should fix? Write to [email protected], a person reads every message.

Questions people ask

How much does live chat software cost per month?

On 2026-10-10, the median entry plan across 18 paid tools cost $29 a month for one person, $121 for five and $240 for ten, on monthly billing at list price.

Is live chat usually priced per seat?

Yes. 14 of the 23 tools we captured charge their entry plan per seat. The rest use flat or tiered prices that include several seats, or charge by conversation or ticket volume.

How much do you save with annual billing?

Across the entry plans that print both prices, the per-month price is lower by a median of 20% on annual billing, ranging from 10% to 30%.

Which live chat tools have a free plan?

14 of the 23 tools list a free plan: Crisp, Tidio, Tawk.to, HubSpot, Freshchat, Help Scout, Zoho SalesIQ, Smartsupp, JivoChat, Chatwoot, Lime Connect (ex Userlike), Brevo, Chatra and Chaport. Seat limits range from 1 to 10.

One inbox for the chat on every site you run.

muro is live chat hosted in Germany, with an AI that answers from your docs and hands the hard questions to you, at one flat price. Try both sides in the live demo, read the pricing, or see how muro compares.